A “Put on Your Sweater and Think Cheery Thoughts” Kind of Saturday   Leave a comment

Wow.  I’m going to try to forget that I saw, and in fact, was out walking in sleet this morning.  So much for chirping birds and gentle breezes carrying the sweet scent of hyacinths and apple blossoms!  Ha!  Try Old Man Winter sending ice pellets down your neck instead!  If there was any humor in all of this it would have to be the various ways in which my fellow humans react to such sudden and unwelcome change.  I myself, hate to freeze.  Obviously some of my fellow villagers do not.

I reluctantly pulled my sensible red wool peacoat from the closet this morning and cursed under my breath while I buttoned it and headed out into the elements….luckily I could drive to the grocery store, my grand destination.  Once through the automatic doors and into the warmth of said grocery store, I spied people who obviously had either not (to quote a tired phrase) “gotten the memo” or else refused to believe that they were in fact in Northern Ohio rather than Boca Raton.  Shorts and t-shirts???  Really??? On a 34 degree day with sleet?? I was afraid to look down at their feet for fear of seeing a pair of flip flops.

Maybe that’s just their idea of “living on the edge” (to quote another rather old and annoying phrase)….or an even older slogan..”go with the gusto!”….In this case, I can tell you the “gusto” was probably blowing right up those shorts making for some very rosy…ahemm….. cheeks.  Whether it’s a form of “sticking it to the man”…or woman in this case, as I believe they are dealing with Mother Nature on this particular issue, or whether it is just pure idiocy, I don’t know.   As I said, I don’t find the sensation of freezing my rear end off to be a very pleasant one, no matter how cute my new shorts may be or how trendy my new sandals.  And I can find gusto in a lot of other, more pleasant ways.

After my hunting and gathering was completed at the store, I settled in with a cup of green tea with lemon (yes, still drinking it in case it helps brain cells) and decided to steer my mind away from the weather and target my brain cells in a happier direction.  So I dialed up the Hen-cam at HenCam.com….for a dose of live chicken antics.  Yes, believe it or not, chicken lovers of all kinds can view the daily goings on of a group of chickens at Little Pond Farm near Boston.  They start broadcasting in the morning and stop when the chickens go to bed at night!  Not quite 24/7  Chicken Heaven, but close enough!  My love of chickens is no secret, so this latest use of technology to benefit those of us with poultry fever only fuels the fire for my own flock someday.  In the meantime, it never fails to bring me a smile when I see a large hen’s face peering back at me from the web….er…hen cam.  Terry Golson, who owns the farm and its menagerie of animals is an author and food writer as well, and writes the HenBlog, also on the site.

Alas, since I lack a real flock of my own, I have to be content with pictorial images of poultry.  This particular image fits the bill for both CHEERY and SPRING-LIKE, the cheery part being the robust rooster and the possibility that that drink featured might be my “poison of choice” when I’m out on the town….a manhattan.  I think the Spring-like part is self explanatory…

This is one of my old ads, and unfortunately it was a little too long for my scanner, but I think you get the basic picture.  One interesting thing is that below the large Schenley text in the lower right hand corner, it states “Pre-War Quality”.  Can’t find a date on the ad anywhere, and it’s not attached to its original magazine, but it is apparently from WWII or a little after that.  Whether I’m right on the manhattan being the drink pictured, all I can say is that it looks mighty familiar!  I’ve only had it served in that shape of glass once or twice though….oftentimes it is served in a rocks glass.  Anyway, I digress.  On to the next pleasant non-wintery image…

How about some type of a Spring fairy!   This comes from one of my old Ideals magazines…..this one dated 1962

Ideals is still in publication, but you have to have the older ones to find all the great vintage style illustrations.  My mother and grandmother both read Ideals and I guess I am just carrying on the tradition.  This fairy has obviously been spared from looking at sleet today….lucky her!

And how about a vintage photograph of a child!  Those are always cheerful and bring a smile to a dreary day…. also from 1962…when little girls ran around in smocked dresses.  I should know!

And lastly, from my postcard collection, some apple blossoms….and “Hearty Greetings!” to all of you…..

Here’s hoping you’re not wearing shorts on a day with sleet!

Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

