Looking at Light….Sunlight..not Bud Light!   Leave a comment

I’ll be starting some new still life paintings soon and figured it would be a good idea to study the light in various areas of the house to see where I want to place my setup.

It’s always advantageous to use as much natural light as possible, although I may experiment with low light areas as well.  When I find the right area and the right time of the day that gives the effect I am striving for, I know I’ve found my spot…at least for this next painting.

In the meantime, I’m grabbing fruit here and there, accompanied by various objects at hand, and seeing what I capture in a digital image that may or may not be a springboard for ideas for the set up.  I’ll be doing a lot of this sort of thing.  Here are two images taken around 3pm, the first one has light from a south-west exposure….

The second shot shows light from a south-eastern facing window…a slight difference in vibrancy and mood…

As I said, I’ll be playing around a lot with this sort of thing.  It’s fun and you can learn a lot about how to best portray shape through light and shadow.  And if you’re hungry…you can always eat the apple!

Posted March 15, 2010 by freshairfour in Art, Light Studies

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

